VEILE Release Horrifically Awesome Video For ‘The Abyss’

Following up on their stellar 2021 EP, The Ghost Sonata, blackened horror metal outfit Veile have finally unleashed a new track upon an unsuspecting world. Titled “The Abyss,” said song takes everything that you already loved about Veile and adds so much more. The vocals and musicianship are top notch, and the mixing and mastering by Russ Russell take the band’s sound to a new level.

And yes, the music video directed by frontwoman Anabelle is the perfect complement.

“This is the first thing that we have released that is a horror story essentially of my own making, whereas the EP was around three very specific horror stories,” Anabelle revealed. “‘The Abyss’ is about what I think is the true horror that lies within, which is our internal thoughts, our psyche, our mental health, and I really wanted this to have a strong visual accompaniment. I wanted this to be a film, not a music video. So, they’re very much a package deal, and I believe the standard that we’ve set forth now with this video, this incredible production, insane team and talent, is the benchmark we’ve now set with the standard of Veile and, going forward, this is what you are to expect: Horrific, nightmarish music accompanied by equally horrific and nightmarish visuals.”

Moving past The Ghost Sonata, which dealt with, well, ghosts as the subject matter, the scarlet frontwoman had this to share regarding the themes of the new batch of songs:

“This one was centered around water. The idea was to put tracks out to do with ghost or horror stories around the elements. This track originally started off as something to do with Davy Jones, but I didn’t want to go down that path. I thought that had been done too much, and I much prefer to use the water, the ocean, the abyss as a metaphor instead for the depths of our minds, the human psyche. So, water was how it was initially conceived, hence the water throughout and the creature throughout the video is reminiscent of a siren-esque creature. But in this creature, I wanted to embody a multitude of fears and traumas that prey on the protagonist, Halo, in the video to pull her to the edge. So it’s loosely got that water/siren feel as a metaphor for the human mind and mental illness and the inner struggles and personal turmoils.”

“One thing we have coming up is a cover which I am very, very excited about,” Anabelle said as she began teasing more new songs. “It’s definitely a track I’ve always wanted to do, and I’m glad we’re doing it. I can also gladly say that we will have an upcoming song about birds because I love birds, and that is something I really wanted to represent. There is surprisingly horrors about birds, horror and folklore about certain birds. That is definitely something to look forward to, and the rest I will keep as a dirty little secret for now.”

Line up:

Anabelle: Vocals

Charles Edward Alexander Hedger: Guitar

Frank Skillpero: Drums

Follow VEILE:

https://veileofficial.bandcamp.com

https://www.instagram.com/veile_official

https://www.facebook.com/VeileOfficial

Stream VEILE by clicking here.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment